Engurazovo village is truly unique among hundreds of other Tambov centers of the population. Distant from the city centers and railroads, steppe Engurazovo is a kind of a Tatar-Muslim island. In the early 20th century the village residents could read and write in Arabic but not all of them could speak Russian.

The Tatars have always been known for their love for hard work and their ability to live in peace surrounded by Russians preserving their cultural identity, native language, customs, and traditions. One of the most favorite holidays among the Tatars is Sabantuy. It unites the people’s soul, its beautiful traditions, songs, and rites. The name of the holiday originates from two Turkic words: “saban” – a plow, and “tuy” – a wedding, a celebration. Originally, Sabantuy was celebrated in honor of the beginning of field works (end of April). Today, it celebrates their end – in June. The main features of this holiday are openness and cordiality that welcome people of all nationalities and religions to take part.

The participants will compete in dexterity, beauty, singing and dancing skills, abilities to cheer everyone up and to have fun. The central event of the holiday is “maydan” – the competitions in running, jumping, weights lifting and, of course, traditional wrestling called “Kuresh”.

All the fun, the Tatar traditional competitions, and contests are going to be followed by the feast. Guests are welcome to taste national dishes, pastry and special Tatar tea. Local performers in traditional outfits are going to perform Tatar songs and dances. The lively and kind holiday of the Uvarovo Tatars will definitely surround guests with fun atmosphere.

Село Энгуразово поистине уникально среди сотен населенных пунктов Тамбовщины. Отдаленное от городских центров и железных дорог, степное Энгуразово является своеобразным татарско-мусульманским островком. Еще в начале ХХ века жители села умели читать и писать по-арабски, не все умели говорить по-русски.

Татарский народ всегда отличался трудолюбием и умением жить мирно в русском окружении, сохраняя свою самобытность, родной язык, нравы и обычаи, культуру. Один из самых любимых праздников татарского народа — Сабантуй, в нем сливаются воедино душа народа, его красивые обычаи, песни и обряды. Название праздника происходит от тюрских слов: сабан – плуг, а туй – свадьба, торжество. Раньше сабантуй праздновали в честь начала весенних полевых работ (в конце апреля), а теперь же в честь их окончания — в июне. Главные черты этого праздника — открытость и радушие, позволят принять в нем участие людям всех национальностей и религий.

Участники посоревнуются в ловкости, красоте, умении петь, танцевать, веселиться и веселить других. Кульминацией праздника станет майдан — состязания в беге, прыжках, поднятии гири и, конечно, национальной борьбе «Курэш».

Забавы, татарские народные состязания и потешные игры в этот день будут сопровождаться пированием. Гостям предложат традиционные национальные блюда, выпечку и специальный татарский чай. Местные артисты в национальных костюмах исполнят татарские песни и танцы. Живой и добрый праздник уваровских татар непременно погрузит всех гостей в атмосферу веселья.