The history of Pokrov trade fair dates back to the beginning of the 18th century. The fair got its name from the name of the holiday – Protecting (Pokrov) Veil of the Mother of God – a special day for the town. On this day in 1637, the first in Tambov fortress church was sanctified. This event defines the time and venue of the trade fair – the closest to Pokrov holiday weekend and the most picturesque Tambov site – the riverside area near Intercession Cathedral. The important part of the fair is the holiday of Tambov potatoes. The potatoes are cooked and served to all comers. One can purchase goods to fit any taste – pastry and sausages, dairy products, vegetables, fruits and berries, picklings and spices, bee-farming products, seeds and planting stocks, feedstuff and fertilizers, drinks. Souvenirs and craftsmen’s goods are available here too. Folklore bands perform on stage. Peddlers, skomorokhs and barkers walk along the stalls advertising the goods and giving out souvenirs to the visitors.
International Pokrov Trade Fair